673 artworks by 210 artists

ANGUSalive is an Art UK Founder Partner

Visit collection's website

More about

The basis of the Angus Council collection consists of artworks held by the seven burgh towns of Angus. With local government reorganisation in 1975 the amalgamation of the burgh collections produced a single art collection which is rich and diverse. The flagship gallery is The Meffan in Forfar, which has a changing programme of exhibitions throughout the year, primarily showing the work of contemporary Scottish artists. Angus Council holds over 4,000 oil paintings, watercolours, drawings and sculptures, the majority having a North East of Scotland connection. The art collection has been augmented over the years by donations, bequests, purchases and competitions. The artists William Lamb of Montrose (who was primarily a sculptor), David Waterson of Brechin and James Watterson Herald of Forfar and Arbroath are well represented, along with works by Henry Raeburn, James Irvine, George Paul Chalmers, Edward Baird, William Hunter Littlejohn, James McIntosh Patrick and James Morrison. Of particular note are two paintings by Pieter Brueghel the younger, 'The Adoration of the Magi' and 'Saint John Preaching in the Wilderness'. These formed the basis of the historical Arbroath collection and are on display in the Arbroath Art Gallery within Arbroath Library. The Angus Council collection is managed by ANGUSalive Culture, Sport and Leisure Trust.