St Catharine's College, founded in 1473 by Robert Woodlark, received its Royal Charter of Incorporation in 1475. Woodlark was Provost of King’s when he founded the new college, so St Catharine’s is unique in being the only Oxbridge College founded by the serving head of another College. St Catharine’s has benefitted from two major bequests. In the 1740s it received a collection of 14 family portraits from Mary Ramsden. This introduced female portraits, unusual at that time, as it was not until 1979 that women were admitted as undergraduates. A collection bequeathed in the 1850s was given by the nephew of Joseph Proctor, who died intestate but had planned for his pictures to come to the College. The bequest helped the College’s collection move away from being solely focused on portraits, as it included landscapes, chief among which is a view of the River Tiber by Jacob More. The College continues to collect works of art, not just oils, but in a wide variety of media. It is stressed that the paintings at St Catharine's College are not in public ownership. In accordance with the charitable aims of the College, which is a private institution, we are including our paintings on this website to widen public awareness and for the benefit of scholarship.
St Catharine's College, University of Cambridge
Trumpington Street, Cambridge, Cambridgeshire CB2 1RL England
01223 338 300http://www.caths.cam.ac.uk
Please remember to double-check the opening hours with the venue concerned before making a special visit